Hello world!

13/07/2011 at 19:36 11 comments


Welcome to my blog.

It’s a shamelessly self-serving and navel-gazing blog about my fledgling experiences of learning how to play, practicing how to play and then trying to play the most popular outdoor parlour game in the world.

What’s the point of the blog (although seriously, what’s the point of any blog other than perhaps the more political blogs)?

For you, I hope it will prove at least midly interesting, even if just in a ‘nodding-your-head-in-empathy-because-that-happens-to-you-too’ kind of way.

For me, if I keep it up-to-date, it’ll be a useful aide memoire as to what my teacher got me doing in each lesson…because I forget…a lot…and there’s a lot to remember…which also means there’s a lot to forget.

Hmm. This reads a lot like an ‘About’ page, but I’ve just written that. Maybe I’ll move some of this, but for now, here we are. My next planned post will be a ‘fascinating’ summary of my golfing life from my first, and free, half hour lesson, to my first round and so on up until, well, anything prior to starting this blog.

A blog which would have been better off started just before my first lesson rather than about three years later.

Welcome.

Entry filed under: Introduction. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Summary so far. Part 1 – Getting Started

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bkuehn1952  |  29/06/2013 at 01:07

    Well, I am 48 hours from making my pilgrimmage to the Holy Grail of golf, St. Andrews, Scotland. My employer takes a group of our salespeople to exotic golf destinations annually and often I fill in for a late cancellation. As luck would have it, one of our marketing people was caught up in a personal scandal and the company needed a steady hand to take his spot. “Brian, is your passport current?” “YES SIR!”

    So, I will be in your backyard, so to speak, from 7/2 to 7/8. Do you all celebrate our day of independence from Great Britain on July 4? Maybe our departure was looked upon as the exit of an irresponsible cousin?

    At any rate, thank you for asking (and being accepted) as a “friend” on oob. Perhaps our next trip will be to England and I will get a chance to figuratively spend a few nights on the couch of a new friend.

    Go out an play some golf!

    Reply
  • 2. Learner Golfer  |  29/06/2013 at 01:23

    You’re here/in Scotland on Tuesday!? So close, yet still so far. Darn.

    And what is this “Day Of Independence” of which you speak? Never heard of it.

    I was meant to play golf today (er yesterday. Friday 28th June!) but the weather forecast put me off…only for it to barely rain at all. If I don’t get a game in this weekend I’ll break something!

    Your trip sounds very exciting though. I’m very jealous. Play well, and make sure to use the OobGolf app so we can keep an eye on your live scorecards. Take photos! Write a ForePlay article! Do it all! But above all, enjoy it, my man,

    Reply
  • 3. bkuehn1952 (aka Brian Kuehn)  |  13/01/2016 at 21:49

    HEY!!!! No only do you never post anything here, you have now abandoned Legitimate golf. The only acceptable excuses are:

    1. You are dead, or
    2. You have been playing & practicing golf so much that you have no time to blog.

    Well, which is it? 😉

    Reply
    • 4. JJ  |  14/01/2016 at 09:04

      I believe I posted a Happy New Year message on the Legitimate Golf forum. A post I notice you didn’t respond to…

      Hmph.

      Reply
      • 5. Brian "bkuehn1952" Kuehn  |  14/01/2016 at 16:08

        Okay, not dead. Guess that is good. Happy New Year to you.

      • 6. JJ  |  14/01/2016 at 16:28

        And to you (again).

        It’s nice to hear from you (again).

  • 7. Brian Kuehn  |  09/12/2016 at 15:17

    While we are on the subject of silence, have you had a chance to play since they shut your home course down? Where will the club move and will you move with them?

    BK

    Reply
    • 8. JJ  |  09/12/2016 at 15:35

      Yes, we moved the club to Selsdon Park Hotel, where they did us a great deal. It’s a nicer place, and a nicer course with better greens, but my legs still feel a bit tired from when I played on Sunday! It’s also a harder course to score on so we’re expecting player handicaps to go up.

      Reply
  • 9. Brian Kuehn  |  21/02/2017 at 15:13

    Haven’t heard much from you lately at Legit Golf. Too busy working on your game?

    Reply
  • 10. JJ  |  21/02/2017 at 15:18

    What’s your definition of “lately”? Feb 3rd too long ago for ya? 😉

    Reply
  • 11. Brian Kuehn  |  28/07/2017 at 23:38

    Speaking of lately, lately there has not been a lot of navel gazing, self-absorbed commentary. What is going on?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2011
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 385 other followers


