51. It’s like 102…

13/11/2011 at 01:43 Leave a comment


…in a good way.

DATE: 12 November 2011
VENUE: Beckenham Place Park
ACTIVITY: Playing a nine hole round

51 was my score today.

We started at 14:45, and as this is South Eastern England in mid-November that inevitably resulted in us finishing in near-darkness. Playing partner Bill quit after he thinned his third shot through the 8th green but I soldiered on. That itself was an interesting experience: I had no idea where my tee shot on 9th went, although I was pretty sure I’d hit it well and straight and found it quite easily (not quite as straight as I thought but still a fairway hit). I was lucky to see where my next shot went too.

Trying to read the greens in the dusk is almost impossible!

Anyway, enough meteorological analysis, I played pretty well! Two pars, both reaching the green in regulation! Had a chance for a one-putt par on the 1st too but found out straight away (i.e. the hard way) how slow the greens were today. Still, a six on that hole is, for me at least, a very good score. Think I’ve managed a 7 before, but usually it’s more like 9 (in fact, looking at my easy-to-refer-to stats on OobGolf.com, I’ve managed three 7s, 12 of over 7, a worst of 12 and an average of 8.75).

I still scuffed a couple of tee shots (on 2nd, 3rd and 6th) and a few fairways shots (again, 2 in a row on the 2nd) but pitching and chipping were almost always good, hit some good mid-irons – a 7 iron on to the 6th green for my second GIR was my favourite, and my 7 iron tee shot to the short par 3 4th coming a close second.

The sound of a well hit fairway shot is nice. Like a ‘chook’ noise. Really crisp.

Essentially, I was confident with every shot I played. Heck, I even used my driver three times.

What did I learn or remind myself of today?

  • Relax.
  • Pause briefly at the top of the swing.
  • Commit to the shot.
  • Don’t tee off so late as 14:45 on an overcast day in November.
Entry filed under: Beckenham Place Park, Good round, Pars. Tags: , , , .

Aaaaaaaaaaaaand… 46. It’s like 92!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 348 other followers


