Puzzling nonsense

23/01/2012 at 00:54 1 comment


DATE: Sunday 15th January 2012
VENUE: Falconwood, Addington Court
ACTIVITY: 18 holes of golf

A cold day (some of the greens were like concrete – with some hilarious results!), but sunny and calm. We teed off at about 10:20. I must admit to feeling quietly confident of having a good game.

Hubris is a terrible thing.

Which is not to say I had a terrible game, I still scored 109 thus breaking 110 for the third time in four 18-hole rounds, but the manner in which my game sucked just really annoyed me.

Way too many times I hit fat shots (for those who don’t know, that means the club hits the ground before hitting the ball) meaning a perfectly good tee shot is wasted as I take another three shots to get the ball even close to the green.

I reckon such inadequacies cost me over 10 shots, but the worst thing about it was I just couldn’t fathom out what I was doing SO wrong SO often. That feeling of frustration hung around for about a week until I read this article which helped me realise the problem was a lack of lateral movement in my swing. Add in that lateral movement and those fat shots are gone.

Still, there are positives to be had:

  • Two Greens In Regulation – on the 9th (for a par) and the 14th (spoilt with three putts for a bogey instead of a par or even birdie!) and another par on the par 3 16th. The last was nearly a chip-in birdie but the ball had just a little too much pace to drop in.
  • Only five fairways hit (seven missed) but 75% of them were still playable, and two drives were of just over 200 yards with an overall average of 169 yards, so driving was good.
  • Seven one-putts and eight two-putts.
  • A few really rather good short shots: A glorious high lob to the second green, spoiled by the concrete-a-like conditions and a cool rescue shot from deep rough utilising a technique I saw in a video in my ‘Everyday Golf Coach’ iPod app.
  • MUCH better par three tee shots. I’ve always had a lot of trouble with tee shots using my irons (Fat, thin, no distance) but this day all of them were lofted and long.

Bill played really well though, scoring 89! Well done, him.

Entry filed under: Addington Courth Golf Glub, Bad day, Driving, Falconwood Golf Course. Tags: , , , .

Now here’s a question Pushing My Weight Around

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


