Interrupted Practice

23/03/2012 at 19:50 Leave a comment


Date: Saturday 17 March 2012
Venue: Beckenham Place Park
Activity: Practice

I had an hour free in the late afternoon so decided to head to the grass practice area to practice getting a good strike on the ball with the lowest part of the swing after the ball. The emphasis is on good weight transfer – essential to a good golf shot.

I only took my 8 iron (and my ball collector) since it’s an easy club to use and the emphasis wasn’t on distance. That turned out to be a mistake as the practice area was in use for a group lesson so I could only use the practice green for some chipping…which the 8 iron is essentially useless for.

I managed to get back to the practice area when I saw the teacher come back with his group though. I hit some pretty poor shots until I tried to emphasise hitting DOWN in the ball at which point I immediately hit about four good shots consecutively. Nice!

Then the golf teacher returned with another group so I had to clear off. I just went home with no conclusively positive feelings.

Entry filed under: Beckenham Place Park, downswing, practicing. Tags: .

Horror In The Midst Of Beauty Accuracy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 348 other followers


