Practice, with my new Playing Partner

10/04/2012 at 20:10 Leave a comment


DATE: Tuesday 10th April 2012
VENUE: Beckenham Place Park
ACTIVITY: Practice on (patchy) grass

A day off, although with Wife at The Sanctuary I wasn’t able to play a round, but I was able to practice for a while.

I concentrated on two things:

  1. Positioning my left foot a quarter turn towards the target, as per Ben Hogan’s ‘Five Lessons’ (where he defines a “turn” as 90 degrees)
  2. Striking down on the ball with a follow-through as per my last lesson

I hit some good shots. A few thin, and a few fat, but generally less spraying around and some splendid height to the shots (I mainly used my SW but also my 7 iron).

I also bought my 9-yr-old daughter (pictured below, collecting the balls – her idea!) a junior sized 7-iron for £15.

A nice hour-or-so, shortened by the appearance – once again! – of the course pro with a student, and also by a need for our lunch and an impending appointment at the vets for our cats.

Entry filed under: Beckenham Place Park, practice shots, practicing, Stance.

Rescue Lesson Quick Nine

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


