I Am Not Irked…

25/05/2012 at 22:01 Leave a comment


DATE: Friday 25th May, 2012
VENUE: Beckenham Place Park, practice area
ACTIVITY: Practice (with my 7 iron)

…but rather I am long!

Previously when I’ve practiced here I’ve typically hit my iron about 92 yards. Tonight, they regularly, indeed usually, went more like 111 yards, with one extraordinary well-hit shot easily out distancing the others to about 130 yards!

In red: my usual distances with a 7 iron. In green: tonight’s distances. In yellow: one extraordinarily long shot from tonight.

Of course this was wonderful fun, and a good thing overall, but as you can see from the picture many of the shots ended up in a (Hawthorn) bush, which made it hard to retrieve them!

So, 60 balls hit, in three groups of 20. First 20 were pretty much all good. The second 20 started badly as I got all over-excited until I reminded myself to relax (at which time, lo! AND behold, the shots resulted in straight, high and long ball flight). The third group started badly as I tried to relax even more but also tried to create lag. The lag, I think, messed up the swing as I hit two shots badly to the right, so I went back to just relaxing, and again, the shots reverted to straight, high and long ball flight.

This game really is kind of crazy. I love it!

Entry filed under: Beckenham Place Park, practice shots, practicing.

Ah, To Be Outside. A Frustrating Round

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


