A Playing Lesson (At Last!)

10/06/2012 at 00:38 Leave a comment


DATE: Thursday, 7th June 2012
VENUE: Shirley Park Golf Course
ACTIVITY: A one-hour playing lesson

Now THIS was fun. At the third attempt we finally managed to get a playing lesson done (although the weather forecast suggested otherwise, what we actually got was a really nice morning – mostly quite cloudy, but warm and fairly calm).

We slipped in at the 12th hole and had a really nice, quiet run through to the 16th. So, five holes in an hour, in which I played about 30 shots (some repeated), including a GIR on the par 3 13th. It’s a beautiful course, with almost immaculate greens.

My driving wasn’t great and putting was also poor but fairway and other short-game shots were OK. Jon seemed to think my game had come a long way and particularly liked my technique on a SW shot and on a 60° LW shot I played.

Still, some things needed pointing out:

  • I need to cock my left wrist at the top of my swing (driver shots in particular).
  • I need to work on my distance control when putting.
  • Again when putting, I need to stay looking down at where the ball was after hitting it (to avoid opening the shoulders as I make contact which then sends the ball left of target).
  • When playing my practice shots I need to be trying to hit the ground after the imaginary ball properly as I was essentially, and I quote Jon, “…practicing a thinned shot…”

Still, Jon seemed impressed, which in turn gives me confidence that I’m heading in the right direction. He also suggested I practice on the putting green, either before or after a lesson, also saying that if anyone asks – bear in mind Shirley Park GC is a members’ club rather than a public course – I should just say that I have (had) a lesson there. So I did! I spent a happy 40-50 minutes putting away until the poor weather finally started to close in (one of the members who was also practicing did come over to offer a bit of advice on technique and went on to ask if I was a new member, but seemed happy with my response as suggested by Jon).

Now, when I see Jon next, I guess I need to ask why it is my scores are still so high…

Entry filed under: Playing Lesson, Shirley Park Golf Course.

A Frustrating Round So Close

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


