The more one plays…

28/08/2013 at 18:07 3 comments


… the better one gets. It’s not a hard and fast rule but generally it just has to be true, doesn’t it? At least in part to familiarisation with the process and, from that, muscle memory.

Well it’s been true for me recently. Although the scores don’t particularly reflect it my play has become steadier. Tee shots are generally good at the moment, if not very long, and my last nine-hole round total was 52 (3 bogeys, 4 doubles and two triples – so no major blow-up holes).

So why still no properly good scores? Well there are still too many duffed fairway shots, I’m afraid. I think this is due to a combination of tension in my arms at the moment of impact (this shortens the arms causing topped shots) and I think I’m also tending to stand too close to the ball.

The second point should be quite easy to fix, let’s face it, and so I have no excuses.

The first point seems harder though. My theory is that I’m anticipating the bad shot and the uncomfortable impact sensation that goes along with it.  Hypnotherapist Wifey says I should learn to visualise the good result instead, since this will replace the anxiety surrounding the bad result this allowing my arms to ‘stay long’.

One thing is certain: Golf is really hard!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Two shots worse…but better. A Nice Round Number

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian "bkuehn1952" Kuehn  |  28/08/2013 at 21:39

    Most experts, as well as non-experts such as myself, will tell one to work on the short shots in order to score better. In order to break 100 (or 50 for nine holes) one must putt decently and get the ball on the green from 50 yards or less in one shot. If you can play nine holes with less than 18 putts and every shot under 50 yards is on the green in one try, you will break 50 more often than not.

    It is usually not the duffed fairway shot or popped up drive that causes high scores. It is the failure to get on the green when close and the inability to average less than 2 putts a green.

    Reply
    • 2. Learner Golfer  |  29/08/2013 at 12:46

      You know, there’s this fella called The Wedge Guy who…
      😉

      I hear you, Brian. I have my moments, both good and bad, in the distance range you’re talking about but generally I’m OK. My problem is getting to that range in a reasonable number. A par five I played recently went as follows: Good enough tee shot, then FOUR bad attempts at fairway strokes before I finally got one airborne and close, chip on and one putt for an 8. This is typical for me at the moment. If everything else stays the same but I can get the fairway shots working I should be able to score under 100 regularly.

      Reply
  • 3. A Nice Round Number | learnergolfer  |  01/09/2013 at 00:41

    […] golf is like this, golf is fun. Like I said in my last post, I think playing more often is […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


