A Nice Round Number

01/09/2013 at 00:41 Leave a comment


DATE: 31 August 2013
VENUE: The Oaks Sports Centre, Carshalton
ACTIVITY: 18 Holes Of Golf
GROSS SCORE: 100 (48/52)
NET SCORE: 72 (34/38)
STABLEFORD SCORE: 32 (which is pretty good, according to my playing partner)

Well that’s better. A bit better at least. I felt like I was actually playing golf today, rather than merely battling to apply techniques.

We’ve never played this course before but we’ll definitely be playing here again, it’s really very good. Not hard, so suitable for high handicappers like us, but still interesting and with nicely kept tee boxes and greens. There were even a couple of guys in a little shed at the first tee checking that people had paid and were teeing off at the right time!

Even the weather was nice.

I was just eight over after seven holes, with a par, and four bogies. After that I managed four more bogies but three others were more than two over (and one of those was four over).

OK, there was some bad stuff, but there are generally more good shots going on, particularly close to the green where I felt in control. Even the three bunkers I got in to only cost me one shot each.

Coming in to the 18th I needed a par to score 99 but that hole just didn’t like me. A good 178 yard tee shot apparently down the centre of the fairway actually ended up to the left and in the light rough. I then hit an 8 iron bang on line and with lots of height, the ball pitching just short of the green, then on the green but then through the green leaving me with a tricky chip back. I played the chip quite well then two putted. I felt a little hard done by after all that.

So, just a few shots to pick up here and there, tidy up the tee balls and a little better with the putting (I managed a FOUR putt today, after reaching the green in regulation too!) and I should be scoring under 100 quite comfortably.

When golf is like this, golf is fun. Like I said in my last post, I think playing more often is helping.

Entry filed under: Good round, The Oaks. Tags: , .

The more one plays… I Need To Make Better Decisions

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 348 other followers


