Now Do That For Real

18/10/2013 at 21:28 4 comments


DATE: 18 October 2013
VENUE: Bromley Golf Centre Driving Range
ACTIVITY: 100 Practice Balls

Not to say it was great, but less than 10 sliced balls and only about 12 hit fat is not too bad for me. I’ll take that kind of ratio on Sunday when I play in a four ball.

I started with the pitching wedge, then the sand wedge (yes it was meant to be the other way around) then worked up from the 9 to the 4 then the 4h, 3h, 3 wood and the driver to finish.

I reckon I was hitting the 5 and 6 around 160 yards, the 3 wood over 175 and the driver around 200. That’s the kind of distance I need to start getting with those long clubs rather than the average distance of about 164 yards with the flipping driver!

With most par 4 holes being over 350 yards that kind of driving distance leaves the green out of range off the fairway, in which case hitting the green in regulation is impossible so birdies are also impossible, and pars require a single putt not the luxury of two putts.

In short then, I need to learn how to achieve those kind of distances much more frequently on the course if I’m to avoid scores of over 100.

But how? How does one hit the ball more aggressively without losing control?

On Sunday our chosen course is Lullingstone which, I’m told by one of the group, has plenty of wide fairways to let rip at off the tee. So there’s the quandary: Do I go for it or do I carry on as I have been recently?

Oh, and I shall be playing with a professional.  Well, an ex-playing professional. Luke is a work colleague who tried to make it as a pro so he’ll be proper good.  It’ll be fun whatever happens…unless the prediction of significant rainfall and thunder turns out to be accurate. *sigh*

Entry filed under: Driving, Driving Range, Lullingstone 18 hole course, practice shots, practicing.

And Five Makes Three The End Of 2013

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bkuehn1952  |  24/10/2013 at 21:35

    You must be one of those time jumpers, reporting on hitting golf balls on October 28 when today is the 24th. Or is this just some funky UK time zone manipulation? 😉

    Reply
    • 2. Learner Golfer  |  24/10/2013 at 22:39

      I don’t know what you mean, I’m sure…

      Reply
  • 3. Brian "bkuehn1952" Kuehn  |  21/01/2014 at 16:48

    Well, it appears you have sold both your golf clubs and computer as the # of recorded scores and new blog posts seemed to have dwindled off to -0-. That string of 100+ scores, after putting up some good numbers earlier, has undoubtedly caused some angst. Shake it off. Long ago I really wanted to break “80” and finally did. Then I went 2 years before doing it again. And I was playing a lot of golf so it was hard not to wonder if I had somehow lost “it’.

    Reply
    • 4. Learner Golfer  |  21/01/2014 at 17:50

      (Wise guy…)

      BK, you make a perfectly reasonable point. I have been neglectful of my blog. At the very least I should have reported on the fourball at Lullingstone that I mentioned in the post above long before now.

      Other than that thoroughly enjoyable day I’m not sure there’s been very much to report. This has been a miserable winter for weather in the UK with many unfortunate people suffering flooding in their houses, let alone the far less important issue of the adverse golfing conditions the rain has created.

      So, I’ll have to see what I can do about updating my blog soon, in which I shall be including any angst experienced.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


