I Have To Write This Down

08/04/2014 at 16:58 3 comments


I know, it’s been a while. There has been golfing activity since my last entry to this ever-popular blog and I will write it up but I have to get this down right now.
I’ve been struggling with my game lately. Partly I’m sure this is because of the sodden winter we’ve endured, but whatever the reason I’ve developed terrible trouble with executing fairway shots. Usually the issue is topping or thinning the ball but there’s a healthy mixture of fat shots too.

The reason? There may be an element of casting the club but I think the main issue is that I’m just not hitting down on the ball. A recent practice session in which I hit half-shots with my weight preset towards the target proved the worth of such contact but I just couldn’t recreate it with full shots either in that session note in the game I played last Saturday.

The central problem seems to be an inability to move to the left (towards the target). I can do it in my practice swings but put a ball there and I just can’t seem to do it. BUT WHY IS THAT?!

Well – and finally I approach my conclusion – I think this is at least in part because I’m so fearful of those topped AND fat shots that I’m trying TOO hard to keep my head level. This results in my knees becoming static (I don’t mean that I’m straight legged,  there is a bend at the knees), crucially preventing them from that producing the little ‘give’ move that would allow the lateral movement to occur. Without this lateral movement the bottom of the swing arc NEVER gets beyond the ball which would – and SHOULD – produce the downward strike on the ball.

Let’s see how my practice session goes tonight.

Please note, this was typed on my smartphone on the train so hasn’t been the subject of my usual thorough proofread for errors!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

2013 Review First lesson of the year

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Richard Moseley  |  09/04/2014 at 08:49

    Morning Jeff
    I used to have a similar sort of issue, and recently so did my father. Now, I am no teacher but I’ll certainly put my two pence in for you – have you tried adjusting your distance to the ball at address ? It is incredible the difference it can make by simply shuffling 2 inches closer or 2 inches further back in your address than you normally would. My dad would regularly top the ball, and just 1 or 2 inches closer in his stance gave him much more confidence that he would actually strike the dam thing. I tend to adjust my distance depending on the club – I prefer to ‘reach’ further for my drive and fairway woods, and steadily get closer ( sometimes by only half an inch ) until for 9’s and PW I am almost over the ball !
    You need grass to practise….a bucket of balls on grass and try it…
    Keep well chap, love hearing your blogs
    Rich

    Reply
    • 2. Learner Golfer  |  09/04/2014 at 08:54

      Yes, I tried to get some off-practice grass done last night but there was someone there before me, damn his hide.

      Reply
  • 3. bkuehn1952  |  15/04/2014 at 14:33

    Well, you have become positively chatty of late. Take solace in the fact that all golfers ride the roller coaster. We progressively play well, hit our peak (e.g. new scoring record) and then plunge into the abyss of hackerdom once again.

    While attempting to shift your weight forward on the downswing be careful not to allow your head to move forward of the ball. That is a fault I commonly face.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


