2014 Review

27/01/2015 at 23:25 2 comments


As I start writing this overdue review, I note with regret that I only managed a measly, some say paltry, five posts last year. Less than one every two months. Pathetic. Must try harder.

Anyway, 2014 was in many ways a disappointing year. I managed to break 100 only twice out of 23 18-hole rounds , and just didn’t see the kind of steady improvement I was expecting and hoping for. Add to that the news of my preferred golf web site’s impending closure, and the threatened closure of my home course, Beckenham Place Park. All a bit rubbish.

But was it all rubbish? No!

For a start, I broke 100 twice:
98 on Sundridge Park West course – a challenging course that I’d never seen before, and a round that included four pars, two of which were GiRs)
96 at Beckenham Place Park – my first sub-100 round here, after something like 34 attempts. This round featured a birdie, and five pars (three in a row following the birdie, and two in a row)

This was also the year in which I joined a club, something that I thought would help me improve…but doesn’t seem to have. Still they’re a great bunch of guys, many of whom are skilled and helpful, so I remain optimistic about achieving some competitive scores in 2015.

I shall finish this entry with a request to the UK citizens amongst you. Please ‘sign’ this e-petition to help us save Beckenham Place Park golf course: epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/70912

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ee t’lad… Cross Pollination

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NotBillEarlesBall  |  31/01/2015 at 01:42

    Accomplishments of 2014

    1. Broke 100 twice
    2. Three pars in a row
    3. Joined a golf club
    4. Became accomplished enough at golf to complain about lack of accomplishments

    Some choose to view the glass half empty. I, on the other hand, like to view the glass full of beer.

    Reply
    • 2. Learner Golfer  |  31/01/2015 at 09:49

      But of course the glass is always full: ‘Half’ of the beverage, ‘half’ of air.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


