Play The Game

23/02/2015 at 23:35 1 comment


DATE: Sunday 15th February 2015
VENUE: Beckenham Place Park GC
ACTIVITY: Braeside Golf Club February Medal (18 holes, Stableford)
STROKES SCORE: 97 (49/48) Gross. 72 (37/35) Net.
STABLEFORD SCORE: 34 (17/17)

This round was the first time I really played the game of golf.

You know, as opposed to just hitting a golf ball as well as I can while making my way around the course.

As a result I failed to score a point on just two holes (1st and 14th), scored three points on six holes, managed three GiRs all of which I made par on, and hit every fairway on the back nine (I missed three out of seven on the front).

I wasn’t getting much distance off the tee (best of 178 yards) but that they didn’t disappear in to the rough or trees meant I always had a good next shot to make (rather than a recovery). Remarkable! Who’d have thought it!?

But I was also making (good) tactical decisions. For instance, on the 16th, my drive finished just over the ditch at the bottom of the valley, but leaving me with a 130 yard uphill shot to a raised green protected with two bunkers at the front. I decided this was too risky, so I played a lay-up shot about half way, then hit my pitching wedge on to the green, and two-putted for bogey and two points. Sure a good second shot would have left me with two putts for par, but equally I might have missed the shot and ended up in the sand and come away with no points.

End result: I finished 15th overall (out of 34 players), and 7th (out of 19) in my division. In my previous competition rounds I’ve been in the bottom 5.

I like this golf thing.

Entry filed under: Beckenham Place Park, Best score, Breaking 100, Driving, Uncategorized.

Cross Pollination ‘Literally’ nothing to do with golf

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bkuehn1952  |  05/03/2015 at 02:36

    Well done old chap. Jolly good show and all that.

    It is exciting for all of us when we begin to actually control the the game. Keep it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


