Awful Golf

11/05/2015 at 23:01 2 comments


That’s what I’ve been playing. Hence no recent updates from me. There’s a few good shots here and there, but far, FAR too many poor ones resulting in triple bogies or worse.

There just always seems to be at least one serious thing wrong with each shot. And by “serious” I mean that I’m not being fussy.

Example:
On Sunday just gone (10th May 2015) my 3rd shot to the 16th green at Beckenham Place Park was uphill, with the ball lying one a very slight uphill slant. The target distance was about 114yds, for which I’d usually pick out my 7 iron, but considering the ‘uphillness’ I chose my 6 iron, and made a nice easy swing while making sure the slope didn’t make me fall backwards during the shot.

I managed to keep my balance, and the swing was good and committed, with a nice follow through. The strike felt good, sounded good, the distance looked to be spot on the ball as sailed beautifully in the air holding its line…except that it was the wrong line: 30yds right of the centre of the green…where the ball nestled in the rough, out of which I needed two shots to get it on the green, then two putts to record a 7 (one of five triples bogies on the day – I also had a couple of quadruple bogies).

That’s not a ‘me being fussy’ thing wrong with that shot, it’s a serious thing wrong.

A couple of the guys in the club have been very encouraging about my golf, telling me that I have  “sound technique”, “a repeatable swing”, “a good short game”, and that I’m an “excellent putter”. I think they’re being honest, but none of that is much good if I can’t string together consecutive half-decent shots. So far I’ve played fifteen 18-hole rounds this year and I’ve managed to break 100 just once.

It’s pathetic, and depressing.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Crazy priorities Better, but not…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian Kuehn  |  13/05/2015 at 12:41

    At least you have not forgotten how to write.

    Have you been taking additional lessons or are you working on something in your swing? It takes 6-12 months to imprint a change into your muscle memory.

    If you are not taking lessons or working on something, maybe it is time to do that. A little fine tuning so to speak.

    Reply
    • 2. Learner Golfer  |  15/05/2015 at 22:42

      Actually, it’s been a long time since my last lesson, so perhaps it’s actually long overdue.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 348 other followers


