I’m getting there

05/10/2015 at 23:35 2 comments


But like the frog who climbs up the well covering half the remaining distance each time, I’m just never actually arriving.

Having worked six and a half hours on Thursday evening I was allowed the day off on Friday, so I went to play golf (the weather was magnificent).

I managed some pretty good shots in amongst the rubbish and kept things mostly under control with a bogey six on the first, my first ever par on the second (that completes the set on this course) – thanks to a chip in! – par on the 4th, bogey on 6th, and par on the 8th. At the turn I’d hit 48 shots (though I didn’t know that until later, as I don’t look…actually CAN’T look, because my reading vision is so poor, so this is the one time there’s an advantage to ageing eyesight!)

The back nine didn’t feel tidy at all, though I did manage my 4th par of the day on the 13th, plus a one-putt bogey on the 15th, which is the hardest hole on the course. The most pleasing shot was my tee shot on the 11th. I tried for a draw, and managed a draw! Sadly it drew in to the rough (which my playing partners were surprised at – they thought it on the fairway), but it was still a good shot despite that finishing position. Amazingly I managed another draw shape with my approach shot on the 13th. This one wasn’t quite so impressive as I hit it a bit thin and it just went through the green.

But still, despite these good things, it just never felt under control, and with a comedy tee shot of about 25 feet (almost straight up, I’m told!) on the 16th I really started to flag, finishing +3, +5, +3.

A final flourish with a 214yd tee shot on the 18th was nice, but that hole is such a slog to reach the end of.

And yet, at the end, to see my score was only 101, was quite a nice surprise. I was convinced it was more than that. Had I just not played those last three holes 11 over…

So, four pars, only two three-putts, but five one-putts (my putting was solid almost all the way through) are probably the reasons why the score isn’t much worse than 101.

Maybe I do need to pay more attention to my score during the round.

So what was the problem? Well, the problem was a great deal of the time I just wasn’t managing to get the ball off the ground when playing off the fairway. Tee shots were OK, short game pretty good, but the longer fairway shots were, apart from a bright start, pretty poor. I guess at least I know what I need to work on.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Know Golf Is Hard Apparently I’ve not Posted Much

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bkuehn1952  |  15/11/2015 at 00:02

    Hey, well done. Take a moment and appreciate how far you have some from Day 1. If one is going to grumble about results, clearly one’s expectations have risen.

    Keep at it.

    Reply
  • 2. bkuehn1952 (aka Brian Kuehn)  |  13/01/2016 at 21:51

    New postings would be nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 348 other followers


