Grrr

11/04/2016 at 21:59 2 comments


My goal this year was to break 100 again, then never again fail to break 100. No more scores of three figures.

Well, last Wednesday I broke 100, so as far as I was concerned I was on my way.

On Saturday I played in our monthly medal, the first this year to be stroke play format, and I started pretty well. The first six tee shots were all good, and after those six holes I was nine over par, and finished the front nine with a score of 51.

The back nine was just messy. I managed to keep most of the scores on each hole from running away with me but although the stats say I hit four out of seven fairways, really only three of those tee shots were any good (12th and 14th, and a don’t-go-in-to-the-ditch 5 iron layup on the 16th).

But the killer was the 15th. My tee shot went 11 yards. It didn’t even get off the (admittedly quite big) tee box. The 5 iron second shot from there was fat so only went 79 yards, and the fourth shot hooked in to the trees, forcing a pitching wedge sideways back on to the fairway. Shot number six was about a foot short of the raised green and rolled halfway back to me, the 7th was a thin bullet almost just the green, the downhill fringe putt was short, then I three putted for an 11.

And absolute card wrecker. To break 100 I needed to complete the highly unlikely feat of scoring a birdie on each of the last three holes! Instead I went double, triple, double. So ugly.

Honestly, I really don’t know why this happened. How can I go from having reasonable control of my tee shots and fairway shots to suddenly topping so many? The tee shots on 8, 10, 13, and 15 were embarrassing, totalling a pathetic 199 yards!

As per the title. Grrr!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

That’s It It Seems I CAN Do It

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molden Wibe (@MoldenWibe)  |  12/04/2016 at 10:52

    that is just the way it goes! some days it clicks, some it doesn’t.. anyway, it is all about being out and about and in good company!

    Reply
  • 2. Bkuehn1952  |  01/05/2016 at 12:55

    Well, when I made my “breakthrough” long ago, I repeated the feat one more time that year and then went about 18 months before accomplishing the task again.

    Keep working and you will get there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

Join 387 other followers


